CRLA has a long history of recognizing those that contribute significantly to the field and the organization. The following are opportunities to nominate individuals deserving of such recognition, as well as a list of those honored in the past.

Past Award Winners List


Eligible work is defined as 'participation in an intensive workshop such as the Winter Institute, National College Learning Center Association (NCLCA) Summer Institute, and Kellogg Institute' or 'pursuing graduate study or conducting research in a field of interest to the members of CRLA.' Up to five $1,000 scholarships will be awarded in this category.

The Grad Student Reg Fee Award seeks to recognize two (2) graduate students who best exemplify the mission of CRLA—providing a forum for the interchange of ideas to improve student learning and facilitate the professional growth of its members. Understanding that graduate students provide energy and vitality to the organization, CRLA would like to acknowledge their contribution and commitment to leadership at the post-secondary level.

Graduate students who will present at CRLA are encouraged to apply for the Grad Student Reg Fee Award, which will be applied to the recipient's graduate student registration fee for the upcoming CRLA Conference. Special consideration will be made to graduate students studying at institutions located near the current conference venue.

Application Materials: To apply for this award, send a letter (2-page maximum) addressed to CRLA Awards Chair Jenny Theriault ( that describes the applicant’s field of study and professional development goals as well as the name and description of the applicant’s CRLA conference presentation. Include a brief CV along with a letter of from your direct report or graduate advisor, confirming your graduate student status. Applications/nominations are due by September 1, 2024

Mail Application  

unded by Cengage Learning's Peer to Peer Faculty Development & Consulting group, TeamUP, this award goes to a CRLA member teaching reading at a community college who seeks professional development through participation in the annual CRLA conference. A $500 Cengage Learning Travel Award is given annually.

Applications/nominations are due by September 1, 2024

CRLA Cengage Learning TeamUP Travel Award

This award recognizes a member of the Association who exemplifies teaching and learning as a lifelong journey. Recipients of this high honor are professionals who provide their students with a clear model of enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and compassionate teaching and who encourage their students to persevere and achieve interdependence. The recipient receives a $100 honorarium and a plaque.

Applications/nominations are due by September 1, 2024

CRLA Distinguished Teaching Award Nomination

This prestigious award recognizes a current CRLA member with at least ten years of membership in CRLA with service at the state/regional level or international level. Self-nominations and nominations by

Applications/nominations are due by September 1, 2024

Robert Griffin Award Nomination

This award, offered together by CRLA and the Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS), honors CRLA members who use CAS standards to self-assess their learning assistance or developmental education programs. The center or program receives a plaque from CRLA and CAS.

Applications/nominations are due by September 1, 2024

CRLA and CAS Ted K. Miller Award Nomination

This grant, offered together by JCRL and Taylor & Francis Publishing, will award money to be used to support research that falls within JCRL's scope: developmental education, postsecondary literacy instruction, and learning assistance at the postsecondary level.

Apply by email, following the linked guidelines. Applications are being accepted on a rolling basis.

Taylor & Francis JCRL Research Grant

The College Reading and Learning Association Outstanding Professional Development Activity award seeks to recognize exemplary professional development activities offered through the professional development branch of the organization, namely local affiliates (SRCs) and/or Special Interest Groups. The board may elect to award this recognition once annually by announcing the winner at the annual conference and presenting the winner with a certificate. In instances where a SIG or SRC has co-leaders, both leaders will be recognized as award winners. In cases of SRC chapters, the full chapter board will be recognized. There is no budget or financial impact associated with this award. Applicants or potential award winners to consider should be brought to the board with a recommended selection by the Professional Development Director. Award winners should be active CRLA members who have played a leadership role in a professional development activity for CRLA members over the past twelve months prior to the award being announced (an SRC or SIG leader, for example). Selection should be based on (1) a nomination letter, (2) information from a Goals and Activity Report, or (3) a board member being present at the event.

Nomination letter and Goals/Activity report can be emailed to the Professional Development Director, WyKeshia Atkins Applications/nominations are due by September 1, 2024